Skip to main content

Departments

Engineering degrees are offered through nine academic departments in the College of Engineering and three departments in other colleges. The Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center, Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute, Operations Research, Engineering Online and two site-based programs also offer engineering degrees.

Nine Academic Departments in the College of Engineering

The joint Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) is co-located at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and NC State University, linking the College of Engineering at NC State to the School of Medicine and College of Arts and Sciences at UNC-CH.

Paul A. Dayton, Ph.D., FAIMBE
William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor

Chair
Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME)
4140 Engineering Building III
Campus Box 7115
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695
padayton@email.unc.edu
919.843.9521

Administrative Manager
Rekha Balasubramanyam
919.513.7622
srbalasu@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs
Lianne Cartee
919.515.6726
lacartee@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Studies
Matt Fisher
919.515.5242
mbfisher@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering

Sindee Simon
Head
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE)
2006A Engineering Building I
Campus Box 7905
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7905
919.515.1297

Business Officer
Christiana Boyle
919.515.6391
caboyle@ncsu.edu

Associate Head
Jan Genzer
919.515.2069
jgenzer@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies and Coordinator of Advising
Lisa Bullard
919.515.7455
lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Program
Milad Abolhasani
919.515.8935
abolhasani@ncsu.edu

Director of Alumni Relations
Russ O’Dell
919.513.2071
russ_odell@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering

Distance education degree offered: M.S. in Chemical Engineering

Jacqueline MacDonald Gibson
Head and Professor
Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE)
3253 Fitts-Woolard Hall
Campus Box 7908
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7908
919.515.2266

Assistant to the Department Head
Amy Alexander
919.515.7212
ajmille9@ncsu.edu

Director of Finance and Administration
Ginger McGlamery
919.515.3329
ginger_mcglamery@ncsu.edu

Associate Head for Undergraduate Programs
Rudi Seracino
919.515.7695
rudi_seracino@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs and Coordinator of Advising
Tarek Aziz
919.515.1562
tnaziz@ncsu.edu

Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs
Ranji S. Ranjithan
919.515.6979
ranji@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S., M.C.E. and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering; B.S. in Construction Engineering; B.S., M.S. and M.E.N.E. in Environmental Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: Master of Civil Engineering (M.C.E.) and Master of Environmental Engineering (M.E.N.E.)

Gregg Rothermel
Professor and Head
Department of Computer Science (CSC)
3308 Engineering Building II
Campus Box 8206
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8206
gerother@ncsu.edu
919.513.0348

Administrative Manager
Linda Honeycutt
919.515.7926
lshoneyc@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs
Sarah Heckman
919.515.2042
sesmith5@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Advising
Barbara Adams
919.513.7888
barbara_adams@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
George N. Rouskas
919.515.3860
rouskas@ncsu.edu

Director of Engagement and External Relations
Ken Tate
919.513.4292
kmtate2@ncsu.edu

Director of Development
Sara Seltzer
919.515.3730
skseltze@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and PhD in Computer Science; Master of Computer Science; M.S. in Computer Networking

Distance education degrees offered: Master of Computer Science and M.S. in Computer Networking

Veena Misra
Head and MC Dean Distinguished University Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)
3098 Engineering Building II
Campus Box 7911
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7911

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Kathy Ford
kathy_ford@ncsu.edu

Senior Associate Head for Undergraduate Affairs
James Tuck
jtuck@ncsu.edu

Associate Head for Graduate Affairs
Paul Franzon
paulf@ncsu.edu

Associate Head for Research
Aranya Chakrabortty
achakra2@ncsu.edu

Marketing and Communications
Charles Hall, Manager
ece-communications@ncsu.edu

Corporate Relations
Sara Concini, Director
ece-corporate@ncsu.edu

Finance
Paul Merry, Director
ece-finance@ncsu.edu

Research Administration
Candice Byrd, Director
ece-research@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Engineering; B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering; M.S. in Computer Networking; M.S. in Electric Power Systems Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: M.S. in Computer Engineering, M.S. in Electrical Engineering, M.S. in Computer Networking and M.S. in Electric Power Systems Engineering

Julie Swann
A. Doug Allison Distinguished Professor and Head
Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISE)
 4121 Fitts-Woolard Hall
Campus Box 7906
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7906
919.515.6423

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Karen Welton
919.515-6405
kwelton@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs
Kanton Reynolds
919.515.0605
ktreyno2@ncsu.edu

Director of the Graduate Programs
 Russell King
 919.515.5186
king@ncsu.edu

Executive Director of the Ergonomics Center
Julia Abate
919.749.3095
julia_abate@ncsu.edu

Director of the Center for Additive Manufacturing and Logistics
Ola Harrysson
919.513.0220
oaharrys@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: BSIE, MIE, MIE-MBA, MSIE and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering; Master of Engineering Management; MOR, MSOR, and Ph.D. in Operations Research; and Master of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering (MIMSE)

Distance education degrees offered: MIE-DE, MIMSE-DE and OR-DE.

Donald Brenner
Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor and Head
Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)
3008 Engineering Building I
Campus Box 7907
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7907
919.515.0493

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Maizie E. Woodall
mewooda4@ncsu.edu

Director of the Graduate Program
Douglas Irving
919.515.6154
dlirving@ncsu.edu

Director of the Undergraduate Program
Yaroslava Yingling
919.513.2624
yara_yingling@ncsu.edu

Associate Department Head
Franky So
fso@ncsu.edu

Business Officer
Meghan Johnston
919.515.7056
meghan_johnston@ncsu.edu

Communicator
Niki Jennings
919.926.8094
mse-communications@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Materials Science and Engineering and Master of Nanoengineering

Srinath Ekkad
Professor and Head
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)
3114 Engineering Building III
Campus Box 7910
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7910
919.515.2368

Executive Assistant
Jessica Sudduth
919.515.2368
jasuddut@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Programs

Associate Head and Director of Undergraduate Programs
Tarek Echekki
919.515.5238
techekk@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Student Affairs
Cheryl Tran
919.513.7687
cheryl_tran@ncsu.edu

Graduate Programs

Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs
Kate Saul
ksaul@ncsu.edu

Graduate Services Program Manager
Summer Fulcher
mae_gradoffice@ncsu.edu

Development

Director of Development
Lucas Carpenter
919.515.1584
lbcarpen@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering; B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: M.S. in Aerospace Engineering and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering

Kostadin Ivanov
Professor and Head
Department of Nuclear Engineering (NE)
3141 Burlington Nuclear Engineering Labs
Campus Box 7909
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7909
919.515.1466 (tel), 919.515.5115 (fax)
knivanov@ncsu.edu

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Beth Fernandez
bethfernandez@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Program
Jacob Eapen
919.515.5952
jeapen@ncsu.edu

Director of Outreach, Retention & Engagement | Coordinator of Advising
Lisa Marshall
919.515.5876
lisa.marshall@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Program
Steve Shannon
919.515.3292
scshannon@ncsu.edu

Assistant Director for Graduate Program
Mario Milev
919.515.3937
mlmilev@ncsu.edu

Director of Nuclear Reactor Program
Ayman Hawari
919.515.4598
ayman.hawari@ncsu.edu

Director of Finance and Administration
Ganga Atukorala
919.515.1463
gkatukor@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering; Accelerated ABM (5-year program earning both a B.S. and an M.S. in Nuclear Engineering); Master of Nuclear Engineering (M.N.E.)

Distance education degree offered: Master of Nuclear Engineering (M.N.E.)

Three Academic Departments in Other Colleges

The Biological Engineering (BE) degree program is offered in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, an affiliated department administered by the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS).

Lingjuan Wang Li
Professor and Interim Head
Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (BAE)
186 D. S. Weaver Labs
Campus Box 7625
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7625
919.515.6762

Business Services Coordinator
Lacy Parrish
919.515.6701
lacy_parrish@ncsu.edu

Associate Department Head and Undergraduate Coordinator
Andrew Hale
919.515.6760
andy_hale@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
John J. Classen
919.515.6755
classen@ncsu.edu

Engineering degrees offered: B.S. in Biological Engineering and M.S. and Ph.D. in Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

The Paper Science and Engineering (PSE) degree program is offered in the Department of Forest Biomaterials (FB), an affiliated department administered by the College of Natural Resources (CNR).

Jingxin Wang
Professor and Head
Department of Forest Biomaterials
2105A Biltmore Hall (Robertson Wing)
Campus Box 8005
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8005
jwang272@ncsu.edu

Coordinator for Undergraduate Advising
Medwick Byrd
919.515.5790
med_byrd@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Coordinator for Paper Science and Engineering
Medwick Byrd
919.515.5790
med_byrd@ncsu.edu

Career Specialist
Brittany Hayes, M.Ed.
919.515.2888
brittany_hayes@ncsu.edu

Engineering degree offered: B.S. in Paper Science and Engineering

The Textile Engineering (TE) degree program is offered in the Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, an affiliated department administered by the Wilson College of Textiles.

Emiel DenHartog
Professor and Interim Head
Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science (TECS)
Wilson College of Textiles
1020 Main Campus Drive
Campus Box 8301
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27606-8301
919.513.4188
eadenhartog@ncsu.edu

TECS Office
Allison Blanchard and Sara Kempin
919.515-6635
textilestecs@ncsu.edu

Associate Head, Director of Undergraduate Programs
Wendy Krause
919.515.6553
tex-tecs-dup@ncsu.edu

Associate Head, Director of Graduate Programs
Nelson Vinueza-Benitez
919.515.6659
tex-tecs-dgp@ncsu.edu

Director of Academic Services
Heather Lyerly
919.515.1177
hemurphy@ncsu.edu

Director of Textile Engineering
Philip Bradford
919.515.1866
philip_bradford@ncsu.edu

Engineering degrees offered: B.S. and M.S. in Textile Engineering

Multidisciplinary Programs Offering Engineering Degrees

A unique, cross-disciplinary instructional center, the Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center (BTEC) provides educational and training opportunities to develop skilled professionals for the biomanufacturing industry.

Gary Gilleskie
Executive Director
Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center (BTEC)
850 Oval Drive
Campus Box 7928
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7928
919.515.0176
btecinfo@lists.ncsu.edu

Director, Academic Programs
Balaji Rao
919.515.0175
bmrao@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: M.S. in Biomanufacturing and a Master of Biomanufacturing (MR)

The Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute’s graduate degree programs are multidisciplinary, drawing on faculty in a number of departments and colleges at NC State.

Michael Kay
Director
Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute (IMSEI)
4161 Fitts-Woolard Hall
Campus Box 7906
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7915
919.515.2008
kay@ncsu.edu

Administrative Support Specialist
Bill Irwin
919.515.3808
wjirwin@ncsu.edu

Degree offered: Master of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Operations Research’s graduate degree programs are multidisciplinary, drawing on faculty in a number of departments and colleges at NC State.

Maria Mayorga
Director of Operations Research, University Faculty Scholar and Professor of Personalized Medicine
Operations Research Graduate Program
4327 Fitts-Woolard Hall
Campus Box 7906
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695
919.513.1690

Executive Assistant
Linda Smith
919.515.2350
linda_smith@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: M.S. in Operations Research, Master of Operations Research (M.O.R.) and Ph.D. in Operations Research

Distance Education and Site-Based Engineering Programs

Engineering Online, our distance education program, offers certificates, professional development programs, and graduate engineering degrees. Two site-based engineering programs also offer NC State engineering degrees. The two site-based programs do not require you to move to NC State University in Raleigh, but they do require you to be at the respective sites.  Lastly, the College of Engineering also oversees three pathway sites, each with an NC State program director onsite, where students may begin their engineering studies.  

Distance Education

Site-based Programs

Pathway Programs