Skip to main content
Alumni Magazine

Faculty highlights

Six receive NSF CAREER Awards

Six faculty members from the College and affiliated engineering departments in other colleges at NC State received Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

The NSF CAREER Award is one of the most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty members who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations. They receive their funding over five years from NSF.

Rajeev Gupta, associate professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE), will receive $500,000 for his project, “Towards High Strength Corrosion-Resistant Magnesium Alloys.”

Lilian Hsiao, assistant professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE), will receive $648,553 for her project, “Elastohydrodynamic lubrication of soft patterned interfaces.”

Alexandros Kapravelos, assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science (CSC), will receive $561,188 for his project, “Web evolution and emerging threats.”

Natalie Nelson, assistant professor in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, will receive $500,000 for her project, “Characterizing the Unseen Water Quality Consequences of Sunny-Day Floods in Nearshore Waters.”

Christopher Parnin, assistant professor in CSC, will receive $555,882 for his project, “Understanding and supporting programmer cognition.”

Ruozhou Yu, assistant professor in CSC, will receive $505,702 for his project, “WolfPack: An application-network co-design framework for performance-guaranteed real-time applications at the network edge.”

Kelly receives Holladay Medal for Excellence

Robert Kelly, Alcoa Professor of Chemical Engineering in CBE, was one of two faculty members selected to receive the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, the highest honor bestowed by NC State and the University’s Board of Trustees.

Kelly has trained more than 90 master’s, Ph.D. and postdoctoral scholars in areas related to life sciences and engineering. He has been the director of NC State’s Biotechnology (BIT) Program for the past 20 years, and he is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Huang, Menegatti receive Alcoa Foundation Awards

The 2021 Alcoa Foundation Awards were given to He (Helen) Huang, professor in the UNC / NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME), and to Stefano Menegatti, assistant professor in CBE.

Huang received the Alcoa Foundation Distinguished Engineering Research Award, given to a senior faculty member for research achievements over a period of at least five years at NC State. Recognized internationally for her work in rehabilitation engineering, Huang has led the way in research of neural control of robotic upper- and lower-limb prostheses.

Menegatti was awarded the Alcoa Foundation Engineering Research Achievement Award, which recognizes young faculty members who have accomplished outstanding research achievements during the preceding three years. Menegatti has built an internationally renowned research group that has made seminal contributions to biological drug manufacturing through its work on the biopurification of therapeutic proteins.

Keltie receives Faculty Distinguished Service Award

Dick Keltie, professor emeritus in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE), received only the second Faculty Distinguished Service Award given by the College. The late Carl Zorowski, Reynolds Professor Emeritus in MAE, received the inaugural award in 2015.

During his long career at NC State, Keltie served as associate dean for research and graduate programs; director of the Center for Sound Vibration in mechanical and aerospace engineering; and associate head of the MAE department. He is a member of the NC State Academy of Outstanding Teachers, and he is a Fellow in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Augustyn, Garcia Menendez receive Blessis Awards

Veronica Augustyn, assistant professor in MSE, and Fernando Garcia Menendez, assistant professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering, have been announced as the winners of the George H. Blessis Outstanding Undergraduate Advisor Award.

The award recognizes faculty members who consistently and willingly give their time and effort to advising, counseling and mentoring students and assisting student groups. It is also a continuing memorial to George H. Blessis, a faculty member whose interest in undergraduate education and advising serves as an example today.