Skip to main content

Yasmin Durmaz receives Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar Award

Yasmin Durmaz in front of a white brick wall

By Chester Brewer

Each year, the staff of the University Scholars Program is honored to select a student to receive the Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar award. The award is named after the former director of the University Scholars Program, Alex Miller, who led the program from its inception until his retirement in 2014.

The Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar award recognizes a senior who best embodies the mission and spirit of the University Scholars Program. Someone who, in the wise words of Thomas Huxley, puts knowledge into action. Someone who has exhibited a significant commitment to the program, and most importantly, to its students. Someone who has had a real impact on the program and left it better.

In 2021, the University Scholars Program is delighted to bestow this honor upon Yasmin Durmaz, a recent graduate who earned a degree in computer engineering. During her time with the University Scholars Program, Durmaz served as a work-study student and a Scholars Forum assistant. Her infectiously bubbly personality and witty sense of humor were always a welcome addition to the program. During her time in the University Scholars Program she gained new perspectives, had the chance to work with a great team and helped other students in the program. 

She encourages other students in the program to choose a variety of events to attend, especially for the first two years in college. Since there is an amazing range of events going on, it can be a great way to add breadth to their college experience. She said this process for her was truly inspiring.  

Now that she has graduated, Yasmin is working on a master’s degree in computer engineering and an internship with the goal of pursuing full-time work in the field of computer architecture. The staff of the University Honors and Scholars Programs wish her well in all her future endeavors and will miss seeing her around the office.

Previous winners of the Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar Award include:

2021 – Savannah Collins (co-recipient)

2020 – Caleb Drum

2018 – Mitchell Moravec

2017 – Anna Leigh Shuping

2016 – Emily Nguyen

2015 – Kayleigh Jernigan

2014 – Alex Eubanks

This post was originally published in DASA.