Skip to main content

Faculty highlights

gallery of NC State College of Engineering faculty
Top, left to right, Ruben Carbonell, Elizabeth Dickey, Peter Fedkiw, Christine Grant, Jacob Jones, Frances Ligler, Munindar Singh, Paul Turinsky and Cliff Wang.

Six engineering faculty members named AAAS Fellows

Six engineering faculty members have been elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2020.

They are part of a group of 10 new Fellows from NC State that represents the largest class of AAAS Fellows elected from the University since it was founded in 1887. AAAS, the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, has been awarding fellowships since 1874.

NC State had the second-highest number of AAAS Fellows of any university in 2020. New Fellows from the College are:

Ruben Carbonell, the Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE).

Elizabeth Dickey, Distinguished Professor Emerita in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE). Dickey is now head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University.

Peter Fedkiw, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor and head of CBE.

Munindar Singh, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor in the Department of Computer Science.

Paul Turinsky, professor emeritus in the Department of Nuclear Engineering.

Cliff Wang, adjunct professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Computing Sciences Division in the Army Research Office in Durham, NC.

Ligler recognized by National Academy of Engineering with leadership award

Frances S. Ligler, Ross Lampe Distinguished Professor in the UNC / NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering, received the National Academy of Engineering’s (NAE) Simon Ramo Founders Award.

Ligler, a member of NAE since 2005, is being recognized “for the invention and development of portable optical biosensors, service to the nation and profession, and educating the next, more diverse generation of engineers.” The award acknowledges outstanding professional, educational and personal achievements to the benefit of society and includes a commemorative medal.

Prior to joining the faculties of NC State and UNC-Chapel Hill in 2013, Ligler worked at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory for 28 years, serving since 1995 as the U.S. Navy senior scientist for biosensors and biomaterials.

She is currently working in the fields of biosensors, microfluidics, tissue-on-chip and regenerative medicine; she has also conducted research in biochemistry, immunology and analytical chemistry.

Grant elected as 2022 AIChE president

Christine S. Grant has been elected president of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). AIChE is a professional society of over 60,000 members in more than 110 countries. Serving as president is a three-year commitment; Grant is the 2021 president-elect, will become AIChE president in 2022, and become past-president in 2023. Grant, an AIChE Fellow, has served the Institute as a member of the Board of Directors, a member of the Chemical Technology Operating Council (CTOC) and the Awards and Nominating Committees, as chair of the Minority Affairs Committee and as a member of the steering committee for the Henry T. and Melinda C. Brown Endowment for the Education of Underrepresented Minority Chemical Engineers. Grant, a professor in CBE for more than 30 years, has served as the College’s inaugural associate dean of faculty advancement and is currently working on an Intergovernmental Personnel Act assignment with the National Science Foundation.

Jones receives 2020 R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company Award

Jacob Jones, Distinguished Professor in MSE, is the thirty-sixth recipient of the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Extension. Jones gave his award lecture titled, “Embracing Convergence Research: The Journey from Ferroelectric Materials to Nanotechnology, Bayesian Statistics, and Water-Food Systems” through a virtual presentation in November.

The award, established in 1981, honors a College of Engineering faculty member who has demonstrated superiority in several areas of activity that relate to NC State’s three-fold mission of teaching, research and extension.

Jones is a leading researcher in the areas of oxide materials and materials characterization and is a passionate, dedicated educator.

Since 2014, he has served as director of NC State’s Analytical Instrumentation Facility (AIF), which is the largest shared core facility at the University and offers students, faculty members and external clients access to state-of-the-art analytical and materials characterization instrumentation. Since 2015, he has served as principal investigator and director of the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network, a multi-institutional site within the National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure that is increasing access to nanotechnology research facilities and education.

Return to contents or download the Spring / Summer 2021 NC State Engineering magazine (PDF, 52.0 MB).

Magazine Archives