Skip to main content

LeBeau Wins $2M Transmission Electron Microscope in NSF MRI Competition

Fall on Centennial Campus
Dr. LeBeau
Dr. LeBeau

Dr. James LeBeau, assistant professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) at North Carolina State University and associate director of the Analytical Instrumentation Facility (AIF), has been awarded a $2M Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM).

This is the largest award in NC State history from the National Science Foundation (NSF) Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) program. The TEM will be located within the AIF and made available to users starting in the summer of 2018.

According to the submitted award abstract titled: “Acquisition of a Transmission Electron Microscope for In-situ Studies of Soft and Hard Matter,” the TEM will aide in studying a broad range of interdisciplinary materials. “The microscope enables interdisciplinary research into energy storage and conversion, biological compatibility, environmental mediation, and materials exhibiting exotic properties such as superconductivity.”

Co-principal investigators of the award include Dr. Ashley Brown, assistant professor in the UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering; Dr. Veronica Augustyn, assistant professor in MSE; Dr. Elizabeth Dickey, professor in MSE; and Dr. Dean Hesterberg, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor in the Department of Soil Science.

The award abstract can be found here: